Let’s Remember Carolyn Livengood

❤️🦋❤️Carolyn Anne Livengood, was an incredibly compassionate human being who knew the power of connections in service for others. She was one of the founding members of Jobs for Youth and the unofficial “Mother of Skyline College”. Carolyn dedicated her life to serving the San Bruno community and San Mateo County. Carolyn was a longtime News Correspondent for the San Mateo Times, San Mateo County Times, San Jose Mercury News, San Mateo Daily Journal, Patch, US Coast Guard Auxiliary among others; President of Avenue of the Flags Committee at Golden Gate National Cemetery among being actively involved in other Veteran’s causes; first honoree of Patriot of the Year in 2016; inducted into the San Mateo County Women’s Hall of Fame; in addition to working with many other organizations and causes. Carolyn received many awards in her lifetime and the impact she made in her/our community was so much more than accolades.

In 1999, Carolyn joined Jobs for Youth family and was committed to making a brighter future for youth throughout San Mateo County! In 2005, Carolyn conceived the idea for the scholarship fund in Al Teglia’s name and later said “I know he would be so very proud of our continuing to support our youth here in San Mateo County as he believed in them with his whole heart.” Carolyn was instrumental in raising over $228,000 from 2005 to 2017 for higher education scholarships. In 2011, Carolyn Livengood received the Mary Paskevich Memorial Award for her long-time incredible support and heartfelt dedication to Jobs for Youth. Everyone who knew her was touched with her fierce presence to support those in need throughout San Mateo County. On October 3, 2017, Carolyn lost her battle to cancer and her generous spirit holds such a loving place in all our JFY family and San Mateo County community. Her legacy is in our hearts full of gratitude and goes on with the renaming of the Mary Paskevich Memorial Award to the Mary Paskevich/Carolyn Livengood Memorial Award. The renamed Mary Paskevich/Carolyn Livengood Memorial Award has been presented annually since 2018 and the details of the award recipients will shortly be unveiled.